Dettifoss WaterfallJanuary 9, 2017
Kawah Ijen VolcanoJanuary 9, 2017
In the middle of old Thebes, capital of Upper Egypt during the 11th and 12th dynasties, Louxor Temple is recognized as a real marvel of Ancient Egypt.
Who built the Louxor Temple ?
The construction of Louxor Temple was started under the reign of Amenophis III by the architect Amenhotep in 1300 BC and dedicated to Amon, lord of gods, his wife Mout, and their son, Khonsou, the lunar god. Louxor was initially connected to the first pylon of Karnak Temple by a 2,5km long alley and bordered by 700 sphinxes, going through all the city of Thebes. Today, only a small part of the alleys has been restored.
The sphinxes originally had ram heads. The heads are still visible at Karnak, but the ones located near Louxor have been replaced by king heads under the reign of Nectanebo the 1st.
Amenophis III and Amenhotep both died before the end of the construction of temple which included a naos, many chapels, an open yard, a hypostyle room and one room with double columns. The temple has been modified especially by Akhenaton, “heretic” pharaoh, who destroyed the representations of Amon and built a sanctuary in honor of Aton, the solar god. This sanctuary was broken down by Toutankhamon who decorated the walls of the Temple. Then, Ramses II extended the Temple with a double portal big yard in front on which he built a big obelisk.
260m long and 50m, the magnificence of the Louxor Temple has rarely been reached on the planet. Real legacy of Ancient Egypt, it is one of the most praised monument by travelers. We will enjoy making you discover it during our next expeditions!